Types of Yoga

Tuesday, April 26, 2011
In a previous blog, we discussed the 8 limbs of yoga. These limbs characterize the path of Hatha yoga, the yoga dedicated to physical well-being. Most of the current research on yoga in people living with cancer is Hatha yoga. There are other yoga practices, too, with each one being suited for people of varying types and temperaments. Here are the other principal yoga practices; all lead to union of one’s Self with the Universal energy:

Karma yoga: work and action to benefit others

Jhana yoga: study and knowledge to learn about one’s Self

Bhakti yoga: selfless love and boundless devotion to the Universal energy

Mantra yoga: use of vibrations and sound to achieve union

Raja yoga: consciousness, the highest form of yoga. Hatha yoga is the process that people undertake to get to Raja yoga.

There are many books, teachers, and trainings that help us learn about and practice each type of yoga. Take time to search the Internet to learn more about these yoga practices that may be right for you.

Lisa Marie Bernardo, PhD, MPH, RN, HFS
Blog Info
This blog highlights the current evidence for integrating yoga into cancer care. Strategies for practicing the eight-limbs of yoga are posted and shared. Video links allow for demonstration of yoga practices that benefit everyone.
Author Bio
Lisa Marie Bernardo, PhD, RN, is a registered yoga teacher (RYT). She serves as a co-investigator on research projects related to yoga in women with osteopenia and individuals at risk for type-2 diabetes. Dr. Bernardo is an ACSM-certified Cancer Exercise Trainer and Health Fitness Specialist. She maintains a private practice in mind-body fitness using yoga, Stott-Pilates, and Gyrotonic to serve individuals with special healthcare needs.
Publication Bottom Border
Border Publication