Recognize Greatness

Mike Hennessy
Published: Thursday, Feb 26, 2015
Mike Hennessy

OncLive Chairman,
Mike Hennessy

As you’ve no doubt heard, the concept of precision medicine has been a major part of the national conversation in recent weeks. While many in this country are hearing the term for the first time, as oncologists, you’ve been well acquainted with the concept for quite a while. As with all major developments in healthcare, oncologists have been at the forefront of translating precision medicine from concept into clinical practice.

It is not happenstance that so many of our cutting-edge medical concepts and treatment advances involve cancer care. It takes a special individual to practice oncology—someone who is not only committed to treating the patient in front of him or her, but to finding the next great advance that will help an entire population of patients.

Historically, the unique minds revolutionizing cancer care have not always been properly recognized. For this reason, OncLive launched The Giants of Cancer CareTM program in 2013, to honor those amazing individuals who have achieved landmark successes within the field of oncology.

The Giants of Cancer Care program recognizes those physicians and researchers who have devoted their time, talent, and resources to improving the care for the many patients and their families affected by cancer. Recipients demonstrate the qualities that distinguish this award from others: unlimited selflessness, compassion for their patients, and a desire to understand and develop life-changing treatments against a disease that affects so many.

The inaugural 2013 Giants class included 12 members, and 16 luminaries were honored in the 2014 class. It is now, once again, time to submit nominations for the premier oncology awards program.

The 2015 Giants awards include eight core categories (breast cancer, lung cancer, genitourinary cancers, gastrointestinal cancers, melanoma/ skin, gynecologic malignancies, hematologic malignancies–myeloid, and hematologic malignancies–lymphoid) and four specialty categories (immuno-oncology, scientific advances/genetics, community outreach/education, and supportive/palliative care).

All Giants are selected by their peers, so I strongly urge you to participate. Nominations will be accepted until April 1, 2015. The 2015 Giants of Cancer Care will be announced in Chicago on May 29, 2015.

Make your nominations at and recognize greatness today!

View Conference Coverage
Online CME Activities
TitleExpiration DateCME Credits
34th Annual Miami Breast Cancer Conference® Clinical Case Vignette Series™May 25, 20182.0
Community Practice Connections™: CDK4/6 Inhibitors With the Experts: The Role of Emerging Agents for the Management of Metastatic Breast CancerMay 30, 20182.0
Publication Bottom Border
Border Publication