With multiple Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor–based approaches approved in the frontline setting for CLL, along with continuous and fixed-duration strategies, investigators sought to compare the efficacy and safety of zanubrutinib vs acalabrutinib/venetoclax via an indirect comparison in the absence of head-to-head prospective data.1
“The problem with comparing the 2 trials—SEQUOIA and AMPLIFY—is the fact that the patient populations are different,” Shadman said. “AMPLIFY, by definition, selected more fit patients and healthier patients.... You have to adjust for that."
To conduct the indirect comparison, patients from cohort 1 of SEQUOIA were split into 3 analysis groups, as follows:1
- Fit patients following the AMPLIFY enrollment criteria (a creatinine clearance of ≥ 50 mL/min, a CIRS score of ≤ 6, and no 17p deletions or TP53 mutations)
- Patients who did not fit AMPLIFY criteria (outcomes were compared vs the fit SEQUOIA subgroup)
- An MAIC population, with individual patient data for those treated with zanubrutinib, reweighted to match population characteristics of AMPLIFY
The primary end point of the indirect comparison was investigator-assessed PFS. Secondary end points included ORR and CR rate. Regarding safety, data were compared between patients in the overall SEQUOIA population who received zanubrutinib and those vs the population treated with acalabrutinib plus venetoclax in AMPLIFY.
Zanubrutinib vs Acalabrutinib/Venetoclax in Treatment-Naive CLL: An Indirect Comparison
- Zanubrutinib was associated with improved PFS vs acalabrutinib plus venetoclax in treatment-naive patients with CLL in an indirect comparison of the SEQUOIA and AMPLIFY trials.
- In an unadjusted analysis, the investigator-assessed 3-year PFS rate was 89.2% with zanubrutinib vs 78.9% with acalabrutinib plus venetoclax.
- Data from a MAIC also reflected a PFS advantage with zanubrutinib (HR, 0.45; 95% CI, 0.23-0.88; P = .0197).
Within the SEQUOIA fit population treated with zanubrutinib (n = 123) and AMPLIFY patients treated with acalabrutinib plus venetoclax (n = 291), the median ages were 71 years (range, 40-83) and 61 years (range, 31-84), respectively. Most patients in the SEQUOIA population (92.7%) were older than 65 years, the percentage was smaller in the AMPLIFY group (27.1%). The majority of patients in both groups were male (SEQUOIA, 65.9%; AMPLIFY, 61.2%), had an ECOG performance status of 0 or 1 (94.4%; 90.0%, respectively), and had unmutated IGHV (51.2%; 57.4%). Median CIRS scores were not reported for the SEQUOIA population; in the AMPLIFY population, the median was 2 (range, 1-4). Patients in the SEQUOIA fit population had a median creatinine clearance of 75 mL/min (range, 51-150), but this value was not reported for AMPLIFY patients. Creatine clearance of less than 60 mL/min was reported in 19.5% of patients in the SEQUOIA fit group vs 13.1% in the AMPLIFY group. At least 3 cytogenetic abnormalities were reported in 8.9% of patients in the SEQUOIA group vs 15.5% in the AMPLIFY group; data on karyotype status were missing for 31.7% of patients in SEQUOIA vs 5.5% in AMPLIFY.
What outcomes were reported for zanubrutinib vs bendamustine plus rituximab (Rituxan; BR) among the fit population in SEQUOIA?
In the fit population of SEQUOIA, the median PFS was not reached for those treated with zanubrutinib or those treated with BR (n = 129) at a median follow-up of 40.3 months (range, 39.4-43.9). However, PFS was improved in the zanubrutinib arm (HR, 0.23; 95% CI, 0.13-0.40; P = .0001). The 36-month PFS rates were 89.2% for zanubrutinib vs 57.9% for BR; the respective 42-month PFS rates were 87.1% and 50.0%. The ORRs were 97.6% for zanubrutinib and 88.4% for BR, with respective CR rates of 18.7% and 24.8%.
Furthermore, when comparing outcomes for zanubrutinib in the SEQUOIA fit population vs those who did not fit the AMPLIFY inclusion criteria, the 36-month PFS rates were 89.2% and 79.1%, respectively. When adjusting for COVID-19, these respective rates were 91.5% and 87.1%.
What was reported regarding the safety of zanubrutinib vs acalabrutinib plus venetoclax?
The median treatment duration with zanubrutinib in SEQUOIA (n = 240) was 43.3 months vs 12.9 months for acalabrutinib plus venetoclax in AMPLIFY (n = 291). Any-grade treatment-emergent adverse effects (TEAEs) occurred in 94.6% of patients treated with zanubrutinib vs 92.8% of patients treated with acalabrutinib plus venetoclax; the respective rates of grade 3 or higher TEAEs were 61.3% and 53.6%. Serious TEAEs were reported in 47.5% of patients treated with zanubrutinib vs 24.7% of those receiving acalabrutinib plus venetoclax.
Among patients treated with zanubrutinib during SEQUOIA, TEAEs led to death, treatment discontinuation, dose interruption, and dose reduction in 7.1%, 15.0%, 57.5%, and 10.8% of patients, respectively. These respective rates were 3.4%, 7.9%, 49.8%, and 14.1% for acalabrutinib plus venetoclax in AMPLIFY.
“As the number of [treatment] options increases, we need to have data to support our colleagues who are maybe less focused on CLL,” Shadman said. “No single study would give us [a complete] answer. [Treatment decisions involve] putting all these pieces together and coming up with the best strategy.”
References
- Shadman M, Tam CS, Brander DM, et al. An indirect comparison of zanubrutinib vs acalabrutinib plus venetoclax in patients with treatment-naive CLL. Blood Adv. 2026;10(8):2599-2607. doi:10.1182/bloodadvances.2025018536
- FDA approves zanubrutinib for chronic lymphocytic leukemia or small lymphocytic lymphoma. FDA. January 19, 2023. Accessed March 31, 2026. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resources-information-approved-drugs/fda-approves-zanubrutinib-chronic-lymphocytic-leukemia-or-small-lymphocytic-lymphoma
- FDA approves acalabrutinib with venetoclax for chronic lymphocytic leukemia or small lymphocytic lymphoma. FDA. Updated February 20, 2026. Accessed March 31, 2026. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resources-information-approved-drugs/fda-approves-acalabrutinib-venetoclax-chronic-lymphocytic-leukemia-or-small-lymphocytic-lymphoma