Dr. Chi on Future Research Efforts With PARP Inhibitors in Metastatic Prostate Cancer


Kim Chi, MD, discusses future research directions with PARP inhibitors in metastatic prostate cancer.

Kim Chi, MD, senior research scientist, Vancouver Prostate Centre, chief medical officer, vice president, medical oncologist, BC Cancer, professor, Department of Medicine, The University of British Columbia, discusses future research directions with PARP inhibitors in metastatic prostate cancer.

Although many studies have yet to report data on the use of PARP inhibition in patients with metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer (mCRPC), the efficacy of agents like olaparib (Lynparza), after progression on an androgen receptor pathway inhibitor or chemotherapy, is already known, according to Chi. Additionally, it is likely that data from studies evaluating PARP inhibitors earlier on in the disease proces will read out soon, Chi adds. Moreover, it was recently reported that olaparib in combination with abiraterone acetate (Zytiga) demonstrated efficacy in patients with mCRPC, Chi notes.

The proven efficacy of olaparib in CRPC has opened a new era of precision oncology for patients with advanced disease, Chi continues. However, there is still room to improve outcomes—particularly for patients with castration-sensitive disease and with homologous recombination repair (HRR) deficiencies, Chi says. The phase 3 AMPLITUDE study (NCT04497844) will provide an opportunity to evaluate the efficacy of PARP inhibitors much earlier in the disease in this patient population, Chi concludes.

Related Videos
Petros Grivas, MD, PhD, professor, Clinical Research Division, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center; professor, Division of Hematology and Oncology, University of Washington (UW) School of Medicine; clinical director, Genitourinary Cancers Program, UW Medicine
Somedeb Ball, MBBS, assistant professor, medicine, Division of Hematology Oncology, Department of Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Phillip J. Koo, MD
Gabriella Smith, MD
Mikkael A. Sekeres, MD, MS
Francesco Di Meo, PhD
Ko Un “Clara” Park, MD
Naseema Gangat, MBBS
Erin Frances Cobain, MD
Pashtoon Murtaza Kasi, MD, MS