Dr. Jacobson on the Safety Profile of Axi-Cel in Relapsed/Refractory Indolent Lymphoma


In Partnership With:

Caron Jacobson, MD, discusses the safety profile of axicabtagene ciloleucel in relapsed/refractory indolent non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

Caron Jacobson, MD, medical director, Immune Effector Cell Therapy Program, and physician, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, assistant professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School, discusses the safety profile of axicabtagene ciloleucel (axi-cel; Yescarta) in relapsed/refractory indolent non-Hodgkin lymphoma (iNHL).

An interim analysis of the phase 2 ZUMA-5 trial presented at the 2020 ASCO Virtual Scientific Program showed that axi-cel elicited significant and durable clinical benefit in patients with relapsed/refractory follicular lymphoma and marginal zone lymphoma (MZL).

Axi-cel had a favorable safety profile in the cohort of patients with follicular lymphoma. As such, axi-cel could be considered for outpatient dosing, pending further positive results, says Jacobson.

About 23% of patients with follicular lymphoma did not experience any-grade cytokine release syndrome (CRS) and of those who did, 7% was grade 3 or higher, says Jacobson. Notably, the median time to onset of CRS was around 4 days compared with 2 days in large-cell lymphoma. Additionally, 15% of patients in this cohort experienced grade 3 or higher neurologic toxicities.

Among patients with MZL, the rates of high-grade CRS and neurologic events were 13% and 38%, respectively, says Jacobson. These findings are in line with what has been observed in large-cell lymphoma.

Related Videos
Petros Grivas, MD, PhD, professor, Clinical Research Division, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center; professor, Division of Hematology and Oncology, University of Washington (UW) School of Medicine; clinical director, Genitourinary Cancers Program, UW Medicine
Somedeb Ball, MBBS, assistant professor, medicine, Division of Hematology Oncology, Department of Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Phillip J. Koo, MD
Gabriella Smith, MD
Mikkael A. Sekeres, MD, MS
Francesco Di Meo, PhD
Ko Un “Clara” Park, MD
Naseema Gangat, MBBS
Erin Frances Cobain, MD
Pashtoon Murtaza Kasi, MD, MS