Dr. Sperling on Future Research With CAR T-Cell Therapy in Multiple Myeloma


In Partnership With:

Adam Sperling, MD, PhD, discusses future research with CAR T-cell therapy in multiple myeloma.

Adam Sperling, MD, PhD, a physician at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and an instructor in medicine at Harvard Medical School, discusses future research with CAR T-cell therapy in multiple myeloma.

Randomized phase 3 studies of idecabtagene vicleucel (ide-cel; Abecma) and ciltacabtagene autoleucel (cilta-cel) compared with standard-of-care therapies in relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma are ongoing, says Sperling. Although no data are yet available, it is likely that CAR T-cell therapies will outperform standard therapies in this setting, Sperling adds.

Additionally, CAR T-cell therapy is being evaluated in earlier lines of treatment for patients with multiple myeloma, Sperling says. The products may have utility in high-risk patients who progress following first-line treatment, or as an option after or instead of stem cell transplant, Sperling says. Combination strategies with CAR T-cell therapy are also emerging to determine whether patients can achieve deeper and more durable responses, Sperling explains.

Finally, ongoing research efforts are focused on understanding and overcoming mechanisms of resistance to CAR T-cell therapy, Sperling says. Dual-targeting CAR T-cell therapies or combination approaches with CAR T-cell therapy and agents, such as gamma secretase inhibitors, may be useful in combatting resistance to CAR T-cell therapy in multiple myeloma, concludes Sperling.

Related Videos
Petros Grivas, MD, PhD, professor, Clinical Research Division, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center; professor, Division of Hematology and Oncology, University of Washington (UW) School of Medicine; clinical director, Genitourinary Cancers Program, UW Medicine
Somedeb Ball, MBBS, assistant professor, medicine, Division of Hematology Oncology, Department of Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Phillip J. Koo, MD
Gabriella Smith, MD
Mikkael A. Sekeres, MD, MS
Francesco Di Meo, PhD
Ko Un “Clara” Park, MD
Naseema Gangat, MBBS
Erin Frances Cobain, MD
Pashtoon Murtaza Kasi, MD, MS