MAVORIC Trial in Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma


Stephen M. Ansell, MD, PhD: Patients who have cutaneous T-cell lymphoma now have a further data point and evidence for a new agent that’s significantly effective, as compared with standard treatments. The anti-CCR4 antibody, mogamulizumab, was tested against standard vorinostat, as a comparator. In a randomized trial, mogamulizumab was significantly superior to vorinostat, the standard arm.

CCR4 is a chemokine receptor, which relates to the homing of cells. It is one of the reasons that the cells are being attracted into the skin. This agent, mogamulizumab, has actually been previously approved in Japan and is an effective therapy against other kinds of T-cell lymphomas. This trial specifically tested the merits of mogamulizumab versus vorinostat, the standard. The patient’s symptomatic scores, response rates, and progression-free survival were all significantly improved. So, this is, again, an agent that is now being given breakthrough designation for this indication. I think this is going to be another agent that will be very useful in patients with cutaneous T-cell lymphoma.

Radhakrishnan Ramchandren, MD: The MAVORIC study looked at mogamulizumab in T-cell lymphoma and compared it with vorinostat. Mogamulizumab was identified as having significant activity. In this population, it is important because there are few active agents in T-cell lymphoma. The addition of another agent, particularly one with a novel mechanism of action, is beneficial in terms of expanding the science. But, more importantly, it is beneficial as a treatment option for patients who have limited therapeutic agents in their armamentarium.

Transcript Edited for Clarity

Related Videos
Carrie L. Kitko, MD
Thomas F. Gajewski, MD, PhD
Michelle Krogsgaard, PhD
Lori A. Leslie, MD
Sattva S. Neelapu, MD
Saurabh Dahiya, MD, FACP, associate professor, medicine (blood and marrow transplantation and cellular therapy), Stanford University School of Medicine, clinical director, Cancer Cell Therapy, Stanford BMT and Cell Therapy Division
Jean L. Koff, MD, MS
Lori A. Leslie, MD
James Ignatz-Hoover, MD, PhD
Changchun Deng, MD, PhD