News >

OncLive to Induct the 2019 Class of Giants of Cancer Care

Published: Thursday, Apr 25, 2019

giants of cancer care
OncLive® is proud to announce the inductees of the 2019 Giants of Cancer Care® recognition program. This year, the program will honor 15 respected health care professionals who are advancing the field of oncology by their contributions in research and clinical practice. The winners will be celebrated at the seventh annual Giants of Cancer Care® Winners’ Reception on May 30 at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago.

inductees are the following:
  • Breast Cancer – Dr. Eric P. Winer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School
  • Cancer Diagnostics – Charles M. Perou, Ph.D., University of North Carolina School of Medicine/Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Community Outreach, Education, and/or Cancer Policy – Dr. Richard Pazdur, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Gastrointestinal Cancer – Dr. Alan P. Venook, University of California, San Francisco/Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Genitourinary Cancer – Dr. Bernard J. Escudier, Institute Gustave Roussy, Paris, France
  • Gynecologic Malignancies – Dr. Beth Y. Karlan, David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles
  • Leukemia – Dr. Frederick R. Appelbaum, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/University of Washington
  • Lung Cancer – Dr. David H. Johnson, The University of Texas Southwest Medical Center
  • Lymphoma – Dr. Saul A. Rosenberg, Stanford University
  • Melanoma & Other Skin Cancers – Dr. F. Stephen Hodi, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Myeloma – Dr. S. Vincent Rajkumar, Mayo Clinic
  • Pediatric Oncology – Dr. Donald Pinkel, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
  • Prevention/Genetics – Henry T. Lynch M.D., Ph.D., Creighton University
  • Supportive, Palliative, and/or Geriatric Care – Dr. Jamie H. Von Roenn, American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • Translational Science – Susan B. Horwitz, Ph.D., Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Nominated by the oncology community, all finalists are selected by an elite seven-member advisory board of world-renowned oncologists. The finalists in each category are then voted on by a 115-plus member selection committee comprising world leading physicians in the oncology space. Winners have been selected in 15 categories: breast cancer; cancer diagnosis; community outreach, education and/or cancer policy; gastrointestinal cancer; genitourinary cancer; gynecologic malignancies; leukemia; lung cancer; lymphoma; melanoma and other skin cancers; myeloma; pediatric oncology; prevention/genetics, supportive, palliative and/or geriatric care, and translational science.
... to read the full story
To Read the Full Story

View Conference Coverage
Online CME Activities
TitleExpiration DateCME Credits
Publication Bottom Border
Border Publication